Exercise: Turning words into pictures

For this exercise I chose the word travel. I first thought about the word travel as a verb, and methods of travel, and then why people travel and what people experience when travelling. I think the word means more than just going on ‘holiday’, usually people use it when wanting to explore the world and try new things. There is an excitement about this word, it’s very active. Holiday is more relaxing, having a break from something.

The activity really helped me to distil what kinds of colours I would use and what the main feel of the word is, at least to me anyway. I also would include bright popping colours colours to convey this idea of anticipation and excitement.

Words to pictures - travel
Travel – Experiencing new things, cultures, excitement of exploration or nature and different cities

Leave a comment