Exercise: Spider diagrams

I have created a spider diagram for each of the four words: Seaside, childhood, angry, festival.

The words and ticks in red pen are from testing it on my mum. I was surprised we got nearly none of the same words in each diagram! As you can tell from Childhood and Angry, she had a difficult upbringing.

It’s difficult to choose which word was most difficult to work with. I think it would be anger, as I could think of lots of things but it was a challenge to think of tangible things to represent it. Festival was also difficult just in terms of actually coming up with words, you can see there are far less on this than on the other subjects. I think partly because it’s a straightforward subject.

In terms of strategies to come up with more words, I tried to think of specific memories and as mentioned in the instructions, work through a scene in your mind to catalogue objects. This worked very well for me.

I haven’t really done spider diagrams before so it didn’t come naturally to me but I’m more or less happy with the result.

 

Leave a comment